Marguerite Bourgeoys Historic Site

Culture, arts and heritage Leisure activities Museums Indoor Old Montreal and Old Port

The Marguerite-Bourgeoys Historic Site and Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours Chapel allow visitors to journey through an impressive 2,400 years of history within their walls. Perched on an ancient promontory above the St. Lawrence River, this church, which was constructed in 1771, is located on the site of a former First Nations encampment and was built upon the foundations of the first stone chapel erected in 1675. Explore its beautiful interior and the unique artifacts in its 18th-century vault, including the tomb of Marguerite Bourgeoys, Montréal’s first teacher. Climb the tower of the chapel, known as the Sailors’ Church since the 19th century, and enjoy views of the Old Port as well as the stained-glass windows of the Salle de la mer.

  • Marguerite Bourgeoys Historic Site
  • Marguerite Bourgeoys Historic Site
  • Marguerite Bourgeoys Historic Site
  • Marguerite Bourgeoys Historic Site
  • Marguerite Bourgeoys Historic Site
  • Marguerite Bourgeoys Historic Site
  • Marguerite Bourgeoys Historic Site

Price

Free entrance

Services

  • Entertainment for children
  • Workshop
  • Concert, show
  • Conference
  • Demonstration

Amenities

  • Lookout
  • Shop
  • Wireless internet
  • Interpretation panels
  • Theatre/auditorium

Accessibility

  • No